My child, the illiterate…

I seem to be committing a cardinal sin.  You see I have a child who is out of school. I am fostering illiteracy,  which is truly ironical seeing I am a teacher. Popular opinion is that I am retarding my child,  raising a future layabout. I will probably support this illiterate, backward child for the rest of his life as he will never ever catch up with the rest of his peers.  See my illiterate is only three and a half and has never been to school,  well Sunday school,  but apparently, that doesn’t count.
I decided that none of my children would go to school before the age of four,  and I might as well confess it all,  I also hate holiday tuition and extra classes. I agree some children may need remedial classes,  but that’s a discussion for another day. And do not get me started on boarding schools for children in primary school.
I fully support the new education laws. I believe as parents,  we have abdicated our place.  We give birth and hand them over to the government to raise,  via schools and teachers. I see both sides,  teacher, and parent.  I will tell you now.  I am a teacher.  My job is to impart knowledge. To help,  yes help you give your child an education.  Not to raise him for you. I certainly don’t want to,  I have five of my own.  And I want to have them with me,  see them grow, be their first influence,  let them be children.  So, honorable Kaimenyi,  I applaud the shorter school days,  the weekends and the holidays. And I will keep my son illiterate just a bit longer,  he is learning what matters.  That mummy loves him, and its okay to be a child.

Author: waitheramuchoki

A mother, a teacher, a woman, Kenyan. A zany sense of humor, an outlook that is utterly, uniquely me. A shoe addict and a perfume snob.

Leave a comment